autumn · gardening · inspiration

Passing the time; no car, wet weather….

Memorabilia....

The past week has been yet another seven days of drizzling rain, spurts of dazzling sunlight, taken over a few minutes later by the rain again. What can one do?

A dessert spoon set, now 73 years old, given to my parents for a wedding present in 1939.

After pondering this question for a minuscule moment, I returned to the computer. With a “to do” list to work on, I have taken complete and utter advantage of the rainy weather and continued on my merry way, indoors.

My mum would heat these curling irons on the stove, to curl her hair.

I rarely stay sitting in front of the keyboard for long. I don’t know if others are the same as me, but I need a change of scenery, maybe every half hour, perhaps to get a drink, pat the animals or do some ironing; whatever I do, it just has to be away from the computer for a few minutes.

They opened to wrap around the hair, leave for a few minutes, then voilà! Curls, (so long as they weren't so hot they singed your hair!)

Yesterday afternoon I had the inspiration to take photos. It was wet outside, so I worked on a display using a few old treasures, to photograph a new header for my blog “Memoirs of My Life”. Have a look if you like, I’ve added the link into the blog title, and I’m really pleased with the results!

Sorting photos, another job on my 'to do' list.

The photos were turning out so well for me. The light in the room must have been just right at that time of day, so while I felt inspired, I took a few extra photos, just for fun.

An unfinished doily that my Mum was working on, over 18 years ago. I will finish it, one day...

I even decided to add a post at “Memoirs”, after taking photos of a damaged photo album, which I am repairing. It’s a shame that the original album has been ruined, and I am hopeful that the restored version will be treasured for generations.

This letter, sent from Australia to England in 1946, was brought back to Australia by my Grandmother, who the letter had been sent to.

As much as I would really enjoy spending some time gardening (the weeds are running rampant!) I don’t hold up too much hope in the near future. During the time it has taken me to write this, it has alternated between sun and rain four times! If you hear a huge “hooray” over the next couple of days, it will no doubt be me. The rain will have stopped and I’ll be heading outdoors.

What is a cat to do, other than curl up on the chair on the veranda!

Here’s hoping. My fingers are crossed….

~ ~ ~

6 thoughts on “Passing the time; no car, wet weather….

  1. Rain is what we’re getting too – acccording to the rain gauge, we’ve gotten about an inch in the past 24 hours, with more on the way. Husband has had doctor appointments, but time at home has involved yarn and knitting needles. I do need to do a new header for my blog – maybe tomorrow.

    Like

    1. Rainy days are an ideal time to stay cosy indoors and knit, aren’t they Carol? Your blog isn’t going anywhere, so you’re right, the new header can wait. 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you Robin. I’ve learned that the light can make the difference between a good or bad photo, so get very excited when it’s in my favour, and rush around photographing everything! 🙂

      Like

  2. The new heading at “Memoirs” looks great! It can be fun enjoying the great indoors on a rainy day, and it looks like you had a wonderful time going through your treasures and creating lovely photographs of your memories…

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

