Australia · blessings · spiritual

Over the Border ~ Queensland. “Ye Olde Houses of God”

Ye Grande Entrance

Whilst taking photos of the other day from Kirra Point Lookout, my camera happened upon an old church building, sitting atop a hill in Coolangatta.

Camera poised, I took a closer look.

Beautiful carved statues adorn the church.

Well, St. Augustine’s Catholic Church in Coolangatta may not compare to St. Mary’s Cathedral in Sydney, but by the standards of this area, it really is a magnificent church building.

The foundation stone was laid on Easter Monday of 1925, with the first mass in the completed church held on January 2nd, 1927, making the church eighty-five years old.

“HIC EST DOMUS DEI”

Being married to a Catholic for many years has taught me that any indecipherable words, relating to anything Catholic, will no doubt be Latin. “HIC EST DOMUS DEI” (which you will see above the doorway here), I have discovered, translates to “This is the House of God”.

In need of repairs.

Apparently the church is in need of funds for repairs to the building. Excuse me for possibly sounding cynical, but I’m quite sure that if the local parishioners cannot come up with the required funds, head office may be able to chip in a dollar or two.

And so they should. A building as grand as this deserves to be cared for. If I hear of any upcoming fundraising events, I will make a point of attending, to help this worthy cause. Perhaps I should encourage my husband to attend a few masses at this church, just to help their fund-raising along. Every little bit helps.

Taking photos of the church high up on the hill, from the position of standing down on street level, really gives the illusion of the church scraping the sky, and just look at the colour of the sky!

An abundance of detailed features.

Have you ever seen any more brilliant a sky-blue than in these photos? It was blinding in beauty! A gift from God, you might say.

St. Peter's Anglican Church, Coolangatta.

Just down the hill and around the corner is another beautiful Olde House of God, this time St. Peter’s Anglican Church.

Ye Olde Church Bell.

Being a Protestant myself, I felt more of a personal connection to this church. It has a wonderful welcoming “feel” to it, and is kept in the most immaculate condition.

The plaque on the side wall of the church tells us that the foundation stone was laid on October 31st, 1937, making the church seventy-five years of age this year. We can all only hope that we are in such a good state of repair when we reach the age of seventy-five!

A building with a history.

I really liked the arched windows around the building. Some of the windows were stained in pastel colours, but the sunlight would not allow me to take a successful photo of those. Perhaps that would be a photo for a day with less brilliant sunshine.

The arched windows add to the character of the church.

Although the old buildings in my area of Australia are few and far between, I have really enjoyed taking photos of, and learning something about, the history of the old buildings around me.

There's that sky again!

I do hope you have enjoyed visiting these churches with me.  🙂

12 thoughts on “Over the Border ~ Queensland. “Ye Olde Houses of God”

  1. I enjoyed the church tour, Joanne. Thank you! I grew up a Protestant, but have enjoyed the times of worshiping in a Catholic church as well. (Not quite sure what an Anglican church might be.) These days am learning to worship in the church of Life. 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh, don’t they call themselves Anglicans in the USA? Anglicans are pretty much the same as Church of England, you know, the church started up by King Henry VIII, when he wanted a different wife than the one he had!

      I’m exactly the same as you, christened Protestant, spent a lot of time in Catholic Churches in my adult years (due to having married a Catholic) and these days, definitely worship in “The Church of Life”! (I love your comment Kathy!)

      I do enjoy the history and architecture of all old buildings, regardless of there designated purpose, however. 🙂

      Like

        1. Thank you Sheryl. 🙂

          Isn’t it funny how they name some churches differently in other countries? It would make it so much easier for everyone if the names were universal.

          Like

  2. Wonderful photos. I enjoyed the details of the both churches, but thought myself a bit strange because, when looking at the photos of the first one I kept thinking how amazing that the bricks were so beautifully put together for such a great height way back in 1925-27, when today’s equipment was not available. May lightning not strike me for having less-than-pious thoughts!

    Like

    1. Oh I’m sure you’ll be safe from the lightning Carol. I thought the same thing, whilst standing right next to the church, and I’m still here!

      It’s a good question though, and I asked my husband, who is in the building industry, how they would go about constructing such a building back then. He said they would have had scaffolding, to reach the highest heights, so it may not have been as difficult as you and I may have imagined, after all. You can see that they certainly took a lot of pride in their work back then. 🙂

      Like

  3. Beautiful photos. And you’re so right about that sky! Magnificent blue. I like touring old churches. I was brought up Catholic, and agree with your about head office chipping in a dollar or two. Surely they can afford it. Like you and Kathy, I’m a member of the Church of Life these days. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Robin. And another member of the Church of Life too, how wonderful! I spoke to my mother-in-law today, a devout Catholic, about the finances for the repairs to the church, and she agreed that head office should be helping out and she imagines they will. 🙂

      Like

  4. Beautiful bright blue sky to frame such lovely places of worship! Thanks for the pictures and the historical and architectural notes, too. I grew up outside of an organized religion, but I’m told my grandmother secreted me away to her Congregational church and had me baptized which made me feel special and infuriated my father. 🙂 My sister-in-law was raised as a Catholic and although she doesn’t believe in the doctrine any more she still loves the rituals. Some of the churches around here are doubling as concert halls these days – live music sounds amazing in most church buildings…

    Like

    1. Thank you Barbara. 🙂 I had to laugh at what your grandmother did, she must have felt very strongly to do such a thing!

      My husband comes from a strong Catholic background, which has always seemed so important to him, so I had all of my children baptised in the Catholic church, sent them to Catholic schools and encouraged them to attend Mass with their father. So much for that though, now they are all older, none of them have any interest in the church wahtsoever! Religion is such a personal choice though, and I prefer to admire the architecture myself! 🙂

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

