autumn · enchanting · happiness · photography · rain

Diamonds and Pearls.

???????????????????????????????

A tangled web, the morning sun,
Gossamer on high,
Dewdrops beading, fragile whispers,
Magic in the sky.

Spiders are not everyone’s cup of tea and if I am to be totally honest, they aren’t mine either. What I do find fascinating about spiders though is their webs.

Web of pearls.
Web of pearls.

How do these tiny creepy bug things build such beauty? What instinct has taught them how? How do they build these homes of theirs so quickly? What is contained in those gossamer strands that will hold an unsuspecting fly in place for the spider to feast on later?

Sparkling diamonds.
Sparkling diamonds.

You know something, I don’t really want to know the answers to these questions! I love the mystery surrounding spider’s webs! And I don’t really need to see the spider either, although I don’t mind occasionally bumping into one (figuratively speaking!) just so that I can admire his agility as he builds his home.

Incy-Wincy spider.
Incy-Wincy spider.

If there is one thing prettier than a spider’s web in the sunlight, it is a spider’s web in the sunlight with drops of rain, or dewdrops, hanging like delicate pearls from each silky strand, and this is just what I have seen outside of my window over the last couple of mornings.

Pink pearls.
Pink pearls.

What an incredibly beautiful way to start the day! It is a sight to make my heart sing!

Diamond edged spider's trampoline.
Diamond edged spider’s trampoline.

These clever spiders have chosen the ideal area in my garden, between some evergreen trees and shrubs, where they won’t be disturbed at all, and best of all, I can see them from my window.

Strands of diamonds sparkling in the sun.
Strands of diamonds sparkling in the sun.

This family of spiders is welcome to live in my garden as long as their collective little hearts, and multiple hairy legs, desire!

The whole family has moved in, and they're welcome. :)
The whole family has moved in, and they’re welcome. πŸ™‚
16 thoughts on “Diamonds and Pearls.

  1. I can’t say that I like spiders exactly, but I do like that they eat bugs! You are right – their webs do look like diamonds and pearls….only prettier. ❀

    Like

    1. Everything has its place in nature so as long as my spiders eat the occasional bug, stay clear of where I walk and build their beautiful webs for me to admire, I’m happy for them to stay. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Oh, how lovely Joanne. I am always mesmerized by the size and intricacies of your Australian spider webs. And your spiders! They are works of art.

    Like

  3. I’m fascinated by spiders too. I don’t find the spiders themselves fun to look at, but you are right, sparkly spider webs are like temporary works of art. You’ve done a lovely job capturing them here.

    Like

    1. Thank you Karma, I’m glad you like my webs and it was fun taking the photos too. Playing with the light was the best part as it was changing by the minute as the sun rose higher in the sky. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. “Diamonds and Pearls”, you chose the perfect title for your magnificent pictures. I love the trampolino πŸ˜‰ Their temporary artworks, as Karma says, are worth stopping by and admiring. I also love this start of the day when, walking through the garden in the early morning light, I “barely” bump into one of those brilliant spider webs. Thanks Joanne.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your lovely thoughts Isa. I really do believe that spider’s webs are a wonder of nature, so detailed, and how do the spider’s weave them….I wonder. πŸ™‚

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

