Australia · Changes · garden flowers · in my garden · In My World · Mount Warning · renovations · spring · sugar cane · sunrise · Tweed Valley

A Week of Flowers

Pierre de Ronsard rose

I spent most of the day in my office at the computer today, keeping out of the way of the lovely man who arrived first thing this morning to replace the floor coverings in my main living area. It’s been a massive job dismantling the room, emptying cupboards, removing old skirting boards, taking down the curtains, moving most of the furniture into another room, but we finally got there at around midnight last night.

Hydrangeas

I planned to spend the day reading through blog posts, which I mostly did, aside from the times when I was needed for something else. I had so much catching up to do! And now I have ideas whirling around in my mind about blog posts I must write. But where to begin?

Cathy, at Words and Herbs has invited us to join her in posting A Week of Flowers, which I thought would be a great place to start. I have spent way too much time indoors this past week, so any excuse to go outdoors is a good excuse. Plus, who doesn’t love flowers? I know I certainly do, and as Cathy said, flowers are sure to brighten the days of people in lockdown.

Evening Primrose

I missed Day 1 of Cathy’s week, so today is Day 2, for those who would like to join Cathy in sharing some floral happiness around the blogging world. 🙂

A touch of morning mist

First thing this morning, the valley looked sparkly and clear, with just a touch of overnight mist lingering at around 6:15am. Sunrise is at around 5:45am these days as we approach summer, and so far I haven’t managed to get up early enough to see the first rays of morning sunlight touch the top of Mount Warning. Too many late nights, I think!

Steam from the sugar mill

The sugar cane harvesting season is nearing the end, but the mill was still pumping out steam in the early daylight hours of this morning.

A work in progress

So now, as the day draws to an end, my family room has half a floor. We waved goodbye to our faithful twenty-six-year-old carpet this afternoon as the floor man drove up the hill with a neatly bundled stack of carpet in his trailer, which has served us well, but has definitely seen one too many teenagers’ party! Our floor man will return tomorrow morning to finish the job, which is very exciting. I’m looking forward to arranging all of our uptuned and askew furniture into its correct position again. 🙂

20 thoughts on “A Week of Flowers

  1. Your flowers are lovely Joanne, especially the Evening Primrose which I love. Our sunrise is about 8am right now, but we don’t often get to see it as it is the foggy season! So it is refreshing to see some bright sunshiny landscapes and sunlight showing off your new floor! Thanks for joining in! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I always think Evening Primrose are the happiest flowers in my garden, Cathy! I have pink flowers in the front garden and white out the back. We had plenty of sun today, and even though our temperature reached 29°C the humidity wasn’t too high and it felt pleasant indoors. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I see part of a dog to the right in that last picture — I wonder what he/she is thinking about all the commotion and changes! The flowers are definitely day-brighteners. I love the delicate shades of pink and white on the rose…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, that’s my son’s dog, Forrest, who lives with us, the one who wouldn’t stay still long enough for a photo! I can tell all the animals are confused, but they seem to enjoy investigating the daily progress at the end of each day.
      I’m glad you like the flowers. ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Love that evening primrose – gorgeous! I sympathize with the prep and upheaval that renovations create. Ten years ago our entire first floor (hardwood) was sanded and refinished, which took all week as, of course, we had a lot of humidity that delayed the drying process. At least we had access through the deck to the kitchen, but had to sleep at a neighbor’s because we couldn’t get to our bedrooms! Luck was with us as they were on vacation that week, so we weren’t in their way. The memories still discomfortingly linger, obviously. 😉 Once done, it is all smiles!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Goodness, that sounds like a challenging time for you! Our floor looks like wood, but it’s not. We had all but decided on wooden floors then talked ourselves out of it for the reason you described – the maintenance. Also, with the dogs, their claws would have scratched the surface meaning more regular maintenance. I’m not sure what this flooring is made of (and I can’t see any description on a box of planks waiting to be laid tomorrow) but it’s industrial grade and hard wearing. I hope you don’t have to go through the sanding process too often!

      Like

  4. I could almost smell those flowers through the computer, Joanne. And how wonderful that you’re sprucing up your house now. A perfect time to be doing it! We’re getting the wood floor in our kitchen re-sanded on Friday. It should look much nicer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They have a beautiful perfume indeed, especially the rose. 🙂
      That’s wonderful about your floor, Kathy! Can you get tradespeople in to do work now, or are you and Barry tackling the job?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Many of the tradespeople aren’t working inside, but this guy will. It’s a small job so he shouldn’t be here long. I will go hang out in the basement probably.

        Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...